[1+1=2]
OneAndOneIs2

Wed, Apr 09, 2008

[Link][Icon]Spam or what?

A while ago, I started getting emails from people asking if I'd be interested in making money out of putting text links on my site.

I never bothered to reply to any of them, since initially I thought that the total lack of adverts anywhere on my site would make it obvious that I wasn't interested in the first place - it's not like it's hard to get adwords installed, after all - and subsequently I ignored them because it got on my nerves how often I got "still haven't had a reply" emails.

I never kept paid particularly close attention, so it's only today, after I've had two in relatively quick succession and not bothered to delete either, that I notice they're coming from different people...

Hi,

I am writing to you again in case your spam filter ate my last email. I had written to you basically to offer a business deal. The deal namely is purchasing text-links on your site http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/. In case you have already thought over this, let me know of your views pronto.

Looking forward to your reply,
Regards,
Christan

and

Hi,
I am basically interested for business reasons. I had written to you about the offer a few days back. Perhaps you never got the mail in the first place. Anyhow, here is the deal. I found your site http://geekblog.oneandoneis2.org really enchanting and would like to buy a number of text-links on your site.

Let me know if you would like to hear more of this.
Best regards,
Brad.

Hmm.

Try as I might, I can't really consider this blog "enchanting" somehow. So.. is this a slightly more sophisticated way of getting emails for spam links - look up emails on websites, email the owner with what looks like a legit proposition, and then spam the confirmed email address without mercy - or just a very lacklustre attempt to get as many webmasters as possible to accept text links?

Doesn't make much difference either way - it's unwanted, unsolicited email that I therefore consider junk and don't reply to - but I'm vaguely curious. . .

6 comments • Categories: Omni, Technology, My Life

Comments:

Comment from: hari [Member] Email · http://hari.literaryforums.org
Well, I was contacted by a similar e-marketer. They're not spammers, but they want to buy text-links on a monthly basis to improve their site popularity on search engines.

I have been paid regularly so far, not a problem. And I can always remove the ads if they don't pay or if I don't feel the need for them.
PermalinkPermalink 09/04/08 @ 14:32
Comment from: oneandoneis2 [Member] · http://geekblog.oneandoneis2.org/
That's interesting, hari. What's the going rate? :)
PermalinkPermalink 09/04/08 @ 14:39
Comment from: hari [Member] Email · http://hari.literaryforums.org
First make sure that they offer first. Then check if their "marketing website" seems genuine.

As for the going rates for link selling, I'll not post here (in the open) but I'll send you an e-mail. But it's no big secret, you should be able to check current advertising rates at any e-marketing forum/website.

There are other issues linked with link-selling as well as a few search engines don't "approve" of such techniques (google doesn't, for instance and penalizes websites in SEO terms for websites that sell text links without the rel="nofollow" attribute), but I don't let google or anybody else determine how I sell my ad space on my website.
PermalinkPermalink 09/04/08 @ 15:53
Comment from: Ray [Visitor] Email · http://lostaddress.org
Interesting. I also received an email like this. I don't know how they did it since the mail address they sent to doesn't have any affiliation with the blog. I've left the mail and subsequent follow up in the inbox while I think about it - I really don't get anything like enough visitors to make it worth their while or mine. Though I am curious....
PermalinkPermalink 09/04/08 @ 21:58
Comment from: oneandoneis2 [Member] · http://geekblog.oneandoneis2.org/
Was it the one in your whois info, by any chance, Ray..?

Thanks for the info, hari. Still have no intention of selling them anything, but it's interesting to see how many bloggers are getting these emails...
PermalinkPermalink 09/04/08 @ 23:16
Comment from: ray [Visitor] Email · http://lostaddress.org
Good point - I forgot all about the whois. I'll hand my geek badge in on the way out......
PermalinkPermalink 10/04/08 @ 15:20

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be displayed on this site.
Your URL will be displayed.

Allowed XHTML tags: <p, ul, ol, li, dl, dt, dd, address, blockquote, ins, del, span, bdo, br, em, strong, dfn, code, samp, kdb, var, cite, abbr, acronym, q, sub, sup, tt, i, b, big, small>
(Line breaks become <br />)
(Set cookies for name, email and url)
(Allow users to contact you through a message form (your email will NOT be displayed.))

Categories

August 2008
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 << <   > >>
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Search

Misc

XML Feeds

What is this?
eXTReMe Tracker

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Valid CSS!

[Valid RSS feed]

powered by
b2evolution

blank